TIFF 2012 Reviews

So I only got to see 3 movies, which I’ll say were definitely worth seeing especially when you know you gotta wait MONTHS if you missed them. I wanted to see some more but you know I’m kind if broke right now so here are my reviews. By the way here’s a photo collage I made for the movies I saw:

Image

  • AT ANY PRICE (Ramin Bahrani)- This movie stars Dennis Quaid & Zac Efron. It’s basically like this family trying to get away from an illegal mistake they’ve done, which was re-using seeds for their farming business. I liked the whole American feel of it, I mean you should know what I’m saying cause the setting of this movie was in a farm, no big city whatever. It left me a bit angry at times because they’ve shown the characters’ bad sides too much until the end of the movie. On top of that, they didn’t bother coming clean to the crime that Zac’s character have done. It was of course a mature role for him, it was totally unexpected but overall I’ll give this a 7.5/10. That Maika Munroe girl is one lucky actress.
  • WRITERS (Josh Boone)- I wanted to see another movie with an all-star cast and I got that with this one. Greg Kinnear plays a father who’s not over with his divorce to his wife (played by Jennifer Connelly), his kids think he’s a sad man going thru a midlife crisis. I have to say this was a funny movie, though I certainly feel that some scenes were so unnecessary. I liked the young stars who were cast in the movie, they’ve done a good job. I also found a new appreciation towards writing after seeing this. It had a kickass soundtrack! 8/10
  • SMASHED (James Ponsoldt)- This was my favorite out of the three. It was so good, in all levels. The cast, the plot, the scenes, the music! Mary Elizabeth Winstead plays a teacher struggling to overcome her alcoholism, also lied about a pregnancy that cost her job. She was amazing here, I mean that part where she was talking to the prostitute she gave a ride home to and was offered to smoke crack, that was brilliant. Plus, the addition of Nick Offerman, Megan Mullaly, Aaron Paul & Octavia Spencer really did make this movie a spectacular one. Golden Globes (or even Oscars) anyone? Give her a nomination! 10/10
Leave a Reply

