Oscars 2013: My thoughts

oscars2013And just like that, the Awards season 2013 is over. This certainly has been a year of great films (well I mean last year is, and they were given recognition this year), and I will say, that I became an Oscar-GG-SAG-Grammys junkie after witnessing all of them this 2013. Anyway, let’s recap what happened last night. Bullet form. My opinions.

  • The news/idea that Seth Macfarlane hosting this year is better than Seth Macfarlane actually hosting. It was very strange for me. His jokes were not right, there were moments where he couldn’t speak because he was laughing at his own jokes (i.e the Django Unchained segue to Rihanna & Chris Brown’s relationship, where he got booed, that’s when I knew I was over it)
  • Opening sequence: quite alright. William Shatner was a delight. Charlize Theron & Channing Tatum dancing was amazing. Daniel Radcliffe & Joseph Gordon-Levitt singing with Seth was bearable. The song with the choir was quite good. It was a long intro.
  • Christoph Waltz won for BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR. Just found out it’s his 2nd win in three years. That’s amazing.
  • Paul Rudd & Melissa McCarthy: Love them both. Their presenting was awkward though! I still love them.
  • The 5 guys from Avengers hit the stage to present. BADASS.
  • The singing part was definitely enjoyable. Loved the Les Mis cast, loved J.Hud too! Adele also won! 3rd time hitting the stage for, she did it on the Golden Globes too, and the Grammys. I love her! This year the Oscars had a theme called MUSIC IN FILM, which was definitely highlighted throughout the show. I give them props for that.
  • I was kind of bored when some awards were presented, because I wish the Academy would get rid of some of these awards and just give them in private or something, or maybe another award for the technical department. That’s just me.
  • The fashion. My best dressed actresses were: JESSICA CHASTAIN, JANE FONDA, KERRY WASHINGTON, SALLY FIELD & NAOMI WATTS. Won’t discuss the worst ones.
  • ANNE HATHAWAY wins BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS. It was expected. In my head I wished SALLY FIELD was gonna bag it, because she’s awesome (may I mention she made out with Seth MacFarlane in the opening bit?). Anne was very graceful yet I knew she was gonna say all the things on her speech, loved that short bit about her husband though.
  • Barbra Streisand, Shirley Bassey & Norah Jones all hit the stage. One for the IN MEMORIAM segment to honor late greats, then one for the BOND tribute, then a TED theme song. Fabulous women.
  • Seth’s jokes got better as it also did get shorter because they were cramping everything up to finish on time.
  • CHARLIZE THERON & DUSTIN HOFFMAN. She’s like a goddess. So gorgeous.
  • JENNIFER ANISTON & CHANNING TATUM. Love love love.
  • DANIEL RADCLIFFE & KRISTEN STEWART. K-Stew hopping and trying to walk properly. I wish she recovers soon.
  • JENNIFER GARNER & JESSICA CHASTAIN. Gorgeous women.
  • LIFE OF PI bagging awards! I have to see it now. Ang Lee proves he’s an amazing director.
  • JEAN DUJARDIN presented the Best Actress Award to…JENNIFER LAWRENCE. She actually tumbled on the flight of steps. I felt bad for her! But then she kept her composure. I was actually shocked as I expected EMMANUELLE RIVA or CHASTAIN or even NAOMI. Sorry.
  • MERYL STREEP presented the Best Actor award to…DANIEL DAY LEWIS. Without even reading the envelope. It was expected because he is a great actor. His speech was incredible, the humor made sense. He then said the award is for his mom. Lovely.
  • JACK NICHOLSON presented the BEST FILM with MICHELLE OBAMA (how random). It went to ARGO! I love it, because I was expecting it. Ben definitely deserved it. He choked up when he said his speech. It was very endearing.

That’s the 411 about last night’s Oscars.

Leave a Reply

