Movie Review: The Great Gatsby (2013)

The Great Gatsby

So I finally got the chance to see this much-awaited, stylized movie by Baz Luhrmann! I saw it on 3D too so I think I made the most of it!

Plot: An adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Long Island-set novel, where Midwesterner Nick Carraway is lured into the lavish world of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby. Soon enough, however, Carraway will see through the cracks of Gatsby’s nouveau riche existence, where obsession, madness, and tragedy await.

My take: It didn’t take me a while to wrap my head around the story, since I haven’t read the book too. I loved how the “movie magic touch” worked in its favor because the 1920’s was such a gorgeous era, style-wise and attitude-wise. Made me wonder if I actually lived in that decade. The casting was perfect, Leonardo DiCaprio shines and says “old sport” about 200 times and I was perfectly fine with it. The other actors also did amazing. It was such a tragic film, and the narration kept me glued to my seat though I admit I dozed off a couple times. 9/10!

 

Leave a Reply

