Movie Review: The Bling Ring (2013)

The Bling Ring

 

“I mean I don’t consider myself an A-list looking guy”

That line was ridiculously bad. I can’t believe I waited so long, and with great hopes for this awful movie. I took my Korean friend to see this so he could learn more on how to converse in English, now I’m thinking it’s a super fail.

Plot: Inspired by actual events, a group of fame-obsessed teenagers, Rebecca (the ringleader), Marc, Nicki, Sam and Chloe, known as the Bling Ring, use the Internet to track celebrities’ whereabouts in order to rob their homes. Victims included Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, Megan Fox, Rachel Bilson, Audrina Patridge, Orlando Bloom and Miranda Kerr.

I mean it’s a decent inside look to what really went down during those Hollywood burglaries but that was all there is to it. Was it actually supposed to have that impact on viewers? The one where you say “huh?” after you saw the movie. Sofia Coppola baffles me: maybe I’m not a fan of her film-making? I liked Somewhere though. Unlikable characters (but Emma Watson’s Nicolette Ramirez is hilarious, and I still love her), one-liners that will certainly make your eyes roll twice, and a terribly slow pacing is what you’re gonna get. I really can’t believe how shallow I am. Let me leave you with a much better line, these may not be exact to what Leslie Mann’s character said, but it’s somewhere along:

“We wind up being the average of the people we surround ourselves with” 

Leave a Reply

