Movie Review: Stoker (2013)

Stoker_Movie-Poster-2013

I finally got around to watching Stoker, directed by Park Chan-wook and I must tell you, it was a really great cinematic experience for me. With the stunning imagery, aggressive dialogues and endless metaphors implied in this film I’m sure this is difficult to forget.

PLOT: After India’s father (Mia Wasikowska) dies, her Uncle Charlie (Matthew Goode), who she never knew existed, comes to live with her and her unstable mother. She comes to suspect this mysterious, charming man has ulterior motives and becomes increasingly infatuated with him.

The story was familiar (coming-of-age, incest, family relationships), yet it’s so strange that your thoughts run back and forth during the movie. The cinematography (yes, that word) and the color palette of this movie was superb. Nicole Kidman never fails to amaze me, especially when she takes on roles that make her deliver such great lines such as:“Personally speaking, I can’t wait to watch life tear you apart”. I mean who says that to her own daughter? So epic. And as for Mia Wasikowska, I think she’s pretty amazing. She carries so much class and effervescence even though she’s playing a disturbed, distant young lady who is infatuated with her uncle. Matthew Goode was just brilliant, I only saw him in a rom-com before. Jacki Weaver was also terrific. I couldn’t look at the violent scenes in this film, but the sound on my earphones was enough to keep me thrilled.

This is one of 2013’s best films I can assure you that. To sum it up: it was beautifully haunting and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

