Movie Review: Only God Forgives (2013)

Only God ForgivesThis was quite the cinematic experience. And to think people walked out of the theatres because they couldn’t take whatever they were seeing, I have to say that this movie was pretty darn brilliant. I liked it.

Plot: Julian, who runs a Thai boxing club as a front organization for his family’s drug smuggling operation, is forced by his mother Jenna to find and kill the individual responsible for his brother’s recent death.

If you can look past the violence & the distasteful nature of this film, I’m sure you will consider it a masterpiece. Then again, it’s a slice of the pie, so you’re going to have to take it in no matter how disgusting and immoral you feel. THIS MOVIE IS CLEARLY NOT FOR EVERYBODY.

Purely falling under the style over substance category, it’s that type of film where you don’t care for the characters let alone for the thin story it tries to tell us. Disengaging yet I can’t say that’s a bad thing. I gotta say that I loved the location though, it was perfect. I want to go to Bangkok now! The lights and the hue of this film are just so stunning. Also the soundtrack, it was like I’m in a dream. I jumped a little in some scenes because I knew there was blood waiting to be shed, I had to cover my eyes, because I myself, couldn’t tolerate that much violence.

One more thing, Ryan Gosling’s eerie machismo creeped me out a little and Kristin Scott Thomas (this is the first time I’ve seen her in a film), oh boy have I become an instant fan. She played it perfectly! Vithaya Pansringarm, the Thai actor, was brooding and excellent. I admit, it was a little tough to watch but I’m glad that this film proved me wrong about the jeers it received at Cannes last May.

Leave a Reply

