Meeting Lena Dunham

Lena DunhamI remember that day clearly like it was yesterday.

You already know that me and the fam went to New York for the Labor day weekend right? It was only supposedly a 4-day trip which I totally realized was too short! I mean come on mom and dad?! I definitely made the most of our walking trips, and my constant craving for a bagel and some Dunkin Donuts…and oh wait wait wait- 99 cent pizzas!

So on our last day, I turned on the actor switch in me (but you gotta know that I legitimately felt sad that day knowing it would be our last day) and my parents bought it! They were like “okay, one more day”. We were also supporting my uncle because he had the citizenship interview the coming day, it would be rude to leave when he has a big day waiting too. I went with him and walked for an hour to the immigration office downtown (it was a long walk but it was a hot summer’s day so I was really loving it). I got to see SoHo and West Village for reals! I even took videos! Check my instagram!

By the way, I’m sharing too much and not talking ¬†about the picture on top BUT here we go. So I found out that morning on twitter that the TV show GIRLS is filming at Lafayette Street near Astoria! I was like “where the hell is that?!” and really, thank God for Google Maps y’all. I even asked my uncle as we were walking to the building of where the place was and he showed me exactly where the filming trucks and crew were setting up!

I immediately got home after the immigration office interview and took a nap for like 3 hours and then I woke up and kinda felt tired but I knew I had to come down and meet whoever possibly was there filming scenes. I expected Allison Williams and Zosia Mamet, of course Lena Dunham. So I walked back to the place and sat down at the flight of steps outside this big library and restaurant. I was wondering why there no fans waiting, so I kind of just thought “maybe this is a long shot”. To my surprise I saw Jemima Kirke lounging around outside a little apartment building! I was like “oh hell yes!”, y’all know my first reaction right? “SHE’S GORGEOUS!” and I came up to the nearest phone booth and started tweeting about it (like a normal obsessive hard fan would) and I saw another girl clamouring and talking on the phone with someone sharing the fact that she saw Jemima! I noticed that the people were just walking by her, maybe they didn’t know her? Or they just don’t care? For some reason that baffled me. She then went inside before I could even find the guts to ask her for a photo (in which she eventually turned down after she stormed out the door), she said she actually can’t take photos with fans, she wasn’t allowed. Oh well.

So an hour came by and I was getting kinda frustrated and thought maybe I’m not gonna meet anybody famous I could take a photo with. Then I waited for another half hour. I even saw two girls waiting, and they looked delighted and excited to see whoever’s going to show up. They left after a few minutes and right at that moment I saw the door open and there goes Lena! I was really shocked! Then I came up to her and said hello and immediately asked for a hug! That wasn’t typical me by the way. Then she gave me a hug and asked where I was from. I told her we were visiting and it was my last day in the city, and that I was from the Philippines and Canada. I asked her for a photo and she was like “yeah, sure!”. She was the coolest ever! She even posed for another photo after asking me if I liked the first one. Seriously it was the best day ever. She said “it was very nice to meet you!’ and waved goodbye. It was enough for me. It topped my first meeting with a Hollywood celeb back in 2011 which was Channing Tatum. I knew I had to share it at every social media account I have, so I did.

Thank God for making my parents say yes to stay another day in which I totally made the most of!

Leave a Reply

